Staff Spotlight – Meet Jack

Meet Jack, one of the Jersey Cares AmeriCorps VISTA members! Our VISTA members have brought their passion and perseverance to the Jersey Cares team and are now wrapping up their year of changing lives.

1cf1ed3e-90d2-484c-9cda-da1606c5d0da-thumbnail

What is inspired you to become an AmeriCorps VISTA?

 

“My parents instilled in me a strong sense of community and the importance of giving back and I decided to continue that along with my experience with working with teens and youth.” “I like working with youth because I really do believe they are the future.”

What do you like most about working at Jersey Cares? How are your values reflected in the work done at Jersey Cares?

 

“I believe that volunteering helps create a stronger sense of community and that is evident in working with Jersey Cares because we help bring so many communities together through volunteerism.”

As part of the Programs department at Jersey Cares, you have helped manage and coordinate volunteer programs, agency relations, and leadership development with various youth populations, what is your greatest lesson from working in this department?

 

“My greatest lesson is how important these volunteer events are to the people we are helping to serve and the difference that we are making in the community.” “At first it can be difficult to realize the impact a simple volunteer event can have on a population, but after engaging with community members, you quickly learn how important these projects are and the difference it makes in the lives of these people.”

Your AmeriCorps term is due to end in November, how do you feel about leaving Jersey Cares?

 

“I feel grateful.” “I am going to miss all the people I have formed relationships with over the past year including the staff members at Jersey Cares.” “I am also going to miss the great work we do at Jersey Cares and knowing that every day I come into work that I have the opportunity to make a difference in someone’s life.”

Leave a Reply

